Head to head, 2026
Tusker Trail vs Thomson Treks
Two fact sheets side by side, from each operator's own published pages and the public registers — every figure sourced and dated on the full profiles. Kilihub names no winner and gets nothing if you book with either.
The classic US premium pairing, both KPAP partners at roughly double the market's typical price: Tusker's Lemosho 8-day at $4,875 and 9-day at $6,490, Thomson's 9-day at $6,790 (Thomson does not state whether park fees are included; Tusker includes them).
Tusker's published safety programme (medically trained guides, equipment lists) is the strongest in this directory, but it publishes none of Kilihub's four disclosure facts. Thomson has been owned by Lindblad Expeditions (NASDAQ:LIND) since 2024 — unmentioned on its site — and its climbs run through Nature Discovery, under the same ownership group. Both carry small, very high review bases.
| Tusker Trail Unclaimed | Thomson Treks Unclaimed | |
|---|---|---|
| Base | Incline Village, Nevada, USA; climbs based out of Moshi | Watertown, MA, USA; Arusha operation |
| Founded | 1977 | 1981 |
| Ownership | Foreign-owned | Foreign-owned |
| Who runs the climb | Runs its own climbs (their statement) | Runs its own climbs (their statement) |
| KPAP/IMEC porter-welfare register | On the register Third party · 2026-08 | On the register Third party · 2026-08 |
| Headline climb | 8-day Lemosho | 7-day Machame |
| Headline price | $4,875 park fees included | $4,990 (park-fee treatment not stated) |
| Left per climber per day after park fees | $471/day (high) | $576/day (high) |
| Porter day wage published | Not provided | Not provided |
| Disclosure score (of 4 facts) | [object Object] of 4 published | [object Object] of 4 published |
| Inclusions specified (of 20) | [object Object] of 20 | [object Object] of 20 |
| Reviews (Kilihub aggregate) | 5.0 from 145 reviews across 1 platformTripAdvisor 5.0 (145) | 4.9 from 93 reviews across 2 platformsTripAdvisor 4.9 (88) · SafariBookings 4.6 (5) |
| Facts published (completeness) | 12 of 18 | 11 of 18 |
Published prices, matched by route
| Itinerary | Tusker Trail | Thomson Treks | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| 9-day Lemosho | $6,490 | $6,790 | Thomson +$300 |
| 7-day Machame | $4,510 | $4,990 | Thomson +$480 |
Which fits you
Tusker Trail tends to fit if: You are buying the safety apparatus above all and will ask for the cost breakdown Tusker does not publish.
Thomson Treks tends to fit if: You want the Thomson/Nature Discovery camp infrastructure and accept public-company ownership behind a boutique brand.
Neither line is a verdict. Bands are questions to ask, ratings borrow other platforms' credibility, and a fuller profile means a more transparent operator, not a better one. Read both full profiles, then ask each company the six questions in our checklist.
- Full Tusker Trail profile →
- Full Thomson Treks profile →
- How to choose between any two operators
- All operators, filterable
More comparisons
- Altezza Travel vs Ultimate Kilimanjaro
- Altezza Travel vs Zara Tours
- Altezza Travel vs Follow Alice
- Ultimate Kilimanjaro vs Climb Kili
- Ultimate Kilimanjaro vs Peak Planet
- Ian Taylor Trekking vs Follow Alice
- Kandoo Adventures vs Follow Alice
- G Adventures vs Intrepid Travel
- Gladys Adventure vs Monkey Adventures