Thomson Treks review 2026

Watertown, MA, USA; Arusha operation · founded 1981 · 5 routes

Unclaimed11 of 18 fields

Thomson Treks publishes a 7-day Machame price of $4,990, which leaves about $576 per climber per day to run the climb after the $956 TANAPA fees. It appears on the KPAP partner register. It does not publish a porter day wage. Kilihub has not verified these figures.

4.993 reviews across 2 platforms

Our aggregate: the review-count-weighted mean of every public rating we could find, read on 2026-08-26. Kilihub does not collect its own reviews yet.

We get nothing if you book with them. No commission, no sponsored spots, no paid placement. Every fact on this page carries a source and a date.

Unclaimed profileCompiled by Kilihub from public sources, each with a date. This company has not reviewed it. Is this your company? How claiming works.

What we know

  • Appears on the KPAP partner register
  • Prices for 4 itineraries, all park-fee inclusive
  • 8 of 20 standard inclusions specified

What we don't

  • TALA licence number, not published
  • Porter day wage, not published anywhere
  • How much oxygen is carried per group
  • Nobody has claimed this page, so nothing is verified

Gaps are not accusations. Most operators have simply never been asked.

Listed we read it on a public pageOperator says their word, uncheckedThird party an independent registerVerified we saw the document

Reviews across platforms

We show every public rating we could find rather than the flattering one. Counts matter more than scores: almost every operator on this mountain sits between 4.5 and 5.0.

Third-party review platforms for Thomson Treks
PlatformRatingReviewsProfile
TripAdvisor4.988read 2026-08-26
SafariBookings4.65read 2026-08-26
Kilihub aggregate4.9932 platforms

Routes they offer

As listed on their own site. Each link goes to our independent guide to that route, not to the operator. Listed · 2026-08

Where your money goes

Park fees are identical for every operator on the mountain. Subtract them and what is left is what this company has to run your climb: guides, porters, food, tents, transport and margin. We compute this from the published TANAPA tariff, so it is comparable across every operator here.

ItineraryPublished priceTANAPA feesLeft to run the climbPer day
Machame, 7 days$4,990$956$4,034$576 / day
Northern Circuit, 10 days$9,190$1,381$7,809$781 / day
Lemosho, 9 days$6,790$1,251$5,539$615 / day
Umbwe, 6 days$5,190$814$4,376$729 / day

Prices read from the operator's own pages on 2026-08-26. Fees computed for a non-East African adult on the stated itinerary, VAT included. A low figure is a question to ask them, not a finding against them. How park fees work

What it costs

Pricing and terms for Thomson Treks
Crew tips includedNot providedOperators: add this →Not provided
Recommended tip totalNot providedOperators: add this →Not provided
DepositNot providedOperators: add this →Not provided
CancellationNot providedOperators: add this →Not provided

What's included

Every operator publishes a different list in a different order. We normalise all of them to the same 20 items. This operator specifies 8 of 20.

  • Park fees
  • VAT
  • Rescue fee
  • Crew wages
  • Crew tips
  • Airport transfer
  • Hotel before
  • Hotel after
  • All mountain meals
  • Drinking water
  • Sleeping tent
  • Mess tent
  • Portable toilet
  • Sleeping mat
  • Sleeping bag
  • Trekking poles
  • Oxygen bottle
  • Pulse oximeter
  • Rescue insurance
  • Summit certificate

✓ included · ✗ explicitly excluded · ? not stated anywhere on their site

What they publish, and what they don't

Our own reading of their website, not their claim about it. Score: 0 of 4.

Disclosure practices for Thomson Treks
Itemised park fee breakdownNot publishedChecked · 2026-08
Porter day wageNot publishedChecked · 2026-08
Tipping guidanceNot publishedChecked · 2026-08
Crew size per groupNot publishedChecked · 2026-08

Licensing and who runs the climb

Licensing and operating structure for Thomson Treks
KPAP partnerYesAlso claims to be a founding member of KPAPThird party · 2026-08
TATO memberYesListed as Thomson Safaris Ltd; TATO site itself unreachable when checkedThird party · 2026-08
TALA licence numberNot providedOperators: add this →Not provided
Registered nameWineland-Thomson Adventures, LLC; owned by Lindblad Expeditions Holdings since April 2024Third party · 2026-08
Office in TanzaniaYesArusha office per SafariBookings; not published on thomsontreks.com itselfThird party · 2026-08
Runs own climbs or resellsRuns its own climbsThe acquisition filing names Nature Discovery as the group's Kilimanjaro trekking operator; thomsontreks.com presents the operation as its ownThird party · 2026-08

Safety and porters

Safety and porter practices for Thomson Treks
Guide-to-client ratio1 WFR-certified guide per 2-3 climbersListed · 2026-08
Oximeter checks per day1 a day'Daily monitoring with pulse oximeters'; frequency per day not specifiedListed · 2026-08
Oxygen bottles per groupNot providedOperators: add this →Not provided
Porter day wageNot providedOperators: add this →Not provided

Worth knowing

  • Owned by Lindblad Expeditions Holdings (NASDAQ: LIND) since April 2024 via Natural Habitat Adventures - the acquisition is not mentioned anywhere on thomsontreks.com, which still reads as a small family company.
  • VAT is charged on top of the headline price ('starts at $300 and varies by trip') - rare among the operators here, so add it before comparing.
  • Deposits, cancellation terms and the full inclusion list are hidden in JavaScript accordions a crawler cannot read - ask for them in writing.
  • The TripAdvisor score shown is their safari listing; no treks-specific listing was found, and their Trustpilot profile is unclaimed with zero reviews.
  • Between 16 and 26 Aug 2026 the Western Approach quietly changed from 8 to 9 trek days at the same $6,790.
  • Claims a 98% summit success rate; unaudited, as all operator success claims are.

Sources

Something wrong on this page?

Operators and climbers can both file a correction. We answer every one, and we publish what changed.

File a correction