Exodus Adventure Travels review 2026
Surbiton, Surrey, UK; US office in Seattle · founded 1974 · 2 routes
Exodus Adventure Travels publishes an 8-day Lemosho price of $5,500 including park fees, which leaves about $549 per climber per day to run the climb after the $1,109 TANAPA fees. It does not run its own climbs, and does not name the Tanzanian operator that does. It appears on the KPAP partner register. It does not publish a porter day wage. Kilihub has not verified these figures.
Our aggregate: the review-count-weighted mean of every public rating we could find, read on 2026-08-26. Kilihub does not collect its own reviews yet.
We get nothing if you book with them. No commission, no sponsored spots, no paid placement. Every fact on this page carries a source and a date.
What we know
- Appears on the KPAP partner register
- Prices for 2 itineraries, all park-fee inclusive
- 9 of 20 standard inclusions specified
- Cancellation terms published
What we don't
- TALA licence number, not published
- Porter day wage, not published anywhere
- How much oxygen is carried per group
- Nobody has claimed this page, so nothing is verified
Gaps are not accusations. Most operators have simply never been asked.
Reviews across platforms
We show every public rating we could find rather than the flattering one. Counts matter more than scores: almost every operator on this mountain sits between 4.5 and 5.0.
| Platform | Rating | Reviews | Profile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Trustpilot | 4.9 | 5,597 | read 2026-08-26 |
| TourRadar | 4.4 | 12,406 | read 2026-08-26 |
| Kilihub aggregate | 4.6 | 18,003 | 2 platforms |
Trustpilot is the only platform here that shows whether a profile is claimed, whether the company pays for review-invitation tools, and warnings about the company itself, so we weight it highest. This profile scores 4.9 from 5597 reviews, claimed since 2019-08. Company-wide profile for the whole catalogue. A second claimed Trustpilot profile at exodustravels.com sits empty.
Routes they offer
As listed on their own site. Each link goes to our independent guide to that route, not to the operator. Listed · 2026-08
Where your money goes
Park fees are identical for every operator on the mountain. Subtract them and what is left is what this company has to run your climb: guides, porters, food, tents, transport and margin. We compute this from the published TANAPA tariff, so it is comparable across every operator here.
Prices read from the operator's own pages on 2026-08-26. Fees computed for a non-East African adult on the stated itinerary, VAT included. A low figure is a question to ask them, not a finding against them. How park fees work
What it costs
| Crew tips included | Not providedOperators: add this → | Not provided |
|---|---|---|
| Recommended tip total | Not providedOperators: add this → | Not provided |
| Deposit | 25%Minimum $500 per person; balance due 120 days out | Listed · 2026-08 |
| Cancellation | 90+ days out: loss of deposit; 89-52 days: 50%; 51-31 days: 75%; 30 days or less: 100%. | Listed · 2026-08 |
What's included
Every operator publishes a different list in a different order. We normalise all of them to the same 20 items. This operator specifies 9 of 20.
- Park fees
- VAT
- Rescue fee
- Crew wages
- Crew tips
- Airport transfer
- Hotel before
- Hotel after
- All mountain meals
- Drinking water
- Sleeping tent
- Mess tent
- Portable toilet
- Sleeping mat
- Sleeping bag
- Trekking poles
- Oxygen bottle
- Pulse oximeter
- Rescue insurance
- Summit certificate
✓ included · ✗ explicitly excluded · ? not stated anywhere on their site
What they publish, and what they don't
Our own reading of their website, not their claim about it. Score: 0 of 4.
| Itemised park fee breakdown | Not published | Checked · 2026-08 |
|---|---|---|
| Porter day wage | Not published | Checked · 2026-08 |
| Tipping guidance | Not published | Checked · 2026-08 |
| Crew size per group | Not published | Checked · 2026-08 |
Licensing and who runs the climb
| KPAP partner | YesAlso self-stated on the Lemosho trip page; sponsors a porter training school and a female-guide scholarship | Third party · 2026-08 |
|---|---|---|
| TATO member | Not providedOperators: add this → | Not provided |
| TALA licence number | Not providedOperators: add this → | Not provided |
| Registered name | Exodus Travels Limited (UK, 01150160); parent Travelopia | Listed · 2026-08 |
| Office in Tanzania | Not providedOperators: add this → | Not provided |
| Runs own climbs or resells | Resells, ground operator not namedInternational tour operator; the Tanzanian ground operator is not disclosed on any public page | Listed · 2026-08 |
Safety and porters
| Guide-to-client ratio | 1:2 on summit day | Listed · 2026-08 |
|---|---|---|
| Oximeter checks per day | Not providedOperators: add this → | Not provided |
| Oxygen bottles per group | Not providedOperators: add this → | Not provided |
| Porter day wage | Not providedOperators: add this → | Not provided |
Worth knowing
- Who actually runs their climbs is undisclosed: no Tanzanian ground operator is named anywhere public. They resell, and the reseller question is exactly what a claim would answer.
- A textbook platform divergence: Trustpilot says 4.9 from 5,597 (paid subscription, invitation tooling) while TourRadar says 4.4 from 12,406. Both cover the whole Exodus catalogue; the half-point gap between the invited and the uninvited platform is the interesting part. A Feefo presence exists but exposes no readable numbers.
- Strong porter-welfare footprint for a reseller: on the KPAP register, sponsors a porter training school on the mountain and a scholarship for female guides.
- Pricing is dynamic per departure ($4,740-6,145 for the same Lemosho trip) - the 'from' price is a floor, not the typical price.
- The steepest deposit terms here: 25% (min $500) with the balance due 120 days before departure.
Sources
- www.exodustravels.com/us/trips/tanzania-holidays/walking/kilimanjaro-climb-lem, read 2026-08-26
- www.exodustravels.com/us/trips/tanzania-holidays/walking/kilimanjaro-climb-ron, read 2026-08-26
- mountainexplorers.org/partnership-for-responsible-travel/climb-with-a-partner-, read 2026-08-26
- www.exodus.co.uk/copyright, read 2026-08-26
- www.exodustravels.com/us/about-exodus/exodus-booking-conditions, read 2026-08-26
- www.exodustravels.com, read 2026-08-26
- www.trustpilot.com/review/exodus.co.uk, read 2026-08-26
- www.tourradar.com/o/exodus-travels, read 2026-08-26
- TANAPA park fee tariff, cross-checked 2026-08-26, used to compute every park fee figure on this page
Operators and climbers can both file a correction. We answer every one, and we publish what changed.