Duma Explorer review 2026
Arusha · founded 2002 · 6 routes
Duma Explorer publishes an 8-day Lemosho price of $3,399 including park fees, which leaves about $286 per climber per day to run the climb after the $1,109 TANAPA fees. It appears on the KPAP partner register (since 2008). It does not publish a porter day wage. Kilihub has not verified these figures.
Our aggregate: the review-count-weighted mean of every public rating we could find, read on 2026-08-30. Kilihub does not collect its own reviews yet.
We get nothing if you book with them. No commission, no sponsored spots, no paid placement. Every fact on this page carries a source and a date.
What we know
- Appears on the KPAP partner register
- Prices for 14 itineraries, all park-fee inclusive
- 16 of 20 standard inclusions specified
- Cancellation terms published
What we don't
- TALA licence number, not published
- Porter day wage, not published anywhere
- How much oxygen is carried per group
- Nobody has claimed this page, so nothing is verified
Gaps are not accusations. Most operators have simply never been asked.
Reviews across platforms
We show every public rating we could find rather than the flattering one. Counts matter more than scores: almost every operator on this mountain sits between 4.5 and 5.0.
| Platform | Rating | Reviews | Profile |
|---|---|---|---|
| TripAdvisor | 5.0 | 663 | read 2026-08-30 |
| Trustpilot | no reviews | 0 | read 2026-08-30 |
| Kilihub aggregate | 5.0 | 663 | 1 platforms |
Trustpilot is the only platform here that shows whether a profile is claimed, whether the company pays for review-invitation tools, and warnings about the company itself, so we weight it highest. This profile was claimed in 2021-03 and still has no reviews. Claimed profile with zero reviews; no paid-feature indicators visible
Routes they offer
As listed on their own site. Each link goes to our independent guide to that route, not to the operator. Listed · 2026-08
Where your money goes
Park fees are identical for every operator on the mountain. Subtract them and what is left is what this company has to run your climb: guides, porters, food, tents, transport and margin. We compute this from the published TANAPA tariff, so it is comparable across every operator here.
Prices read from the operator's own pages on 2026-08-30. Fees computed for a non-East African adult on the stated itinerary, VAT included. A low figure is a question to ask them, not a finding against them. How park fees work
What it costs
| Crew tips included | No | Listed · 2026-08 |
|---|---|---|
| Recommended tip total | Not providedOperators: add this → | Not provided |
| Deposit | 25%Balance due 60 days before trip start | Listed · 2026-08 |
| Cancellation | Cancellation fee 10% of package price at 90+ days before departure, 25% at 60-90 days, 50% at 30-60 days, no refund under 30 days. | Listed · 2026-08 |
What's included
Every operator publishes a different list in a different order. We normalise all of them to the same 20 items. This operator specifies 16 of 20.
- Park fees
- VAT
- Rescue fee
- Crew wages
- Crew tips
- Airport transfer
- Hotel before
- Hotel after
- All mountain meals
- Drinking water
- Sleeping tent
- Mess tent
- Portable toilet
- Sleeping mat
- Sleeping bag
- Trekking poles
- Oxygen bottle
- Pulse oximeter
- Rescue insurance
- Summit certificate
✓ included · ✗ explicitly excluded · ? not stated anywhere on their site
What they publish, and what they don't
Our own reading of their website, not their claim about it. Score: 2 of 4.
| Itemised park fee breakdown | Not published | Checked · 2026-08 |
|---|---|---|
| Porter day wage | Not published | Checked · 2026-08 |
| Tipping guidance | Published | Checked · 2026-08 |
| Crew size per group | Published | Checked · 2026-08 |
Licensing and who runs the climb
| KPAP partner | YesKPAP register lists both 'Duma Explorer | USA' and 'Alika Africa | Tanzania' as separate partner entries. 'Since 2008' and 'one of the 10 founding partners' are the operator's own claims (dumaexplorer.com/blog/kpap-partnership), not verified on the register. | Third party · 2026-08 |
|---|---|---|
| TATO member | YesTATO member listing is under the Tanzanian entity 'Alika Africa', not 'Duma Explorer'. tatotz.org refused fetching; the listing was confirmed via search-index title only. | Third party · 2026-08 |
| TALA licence number | Not providedOperators: add this → | Not provided |
| Registered name | Duma Explorer, Inc.Booking policy: 'Any reference to Duma Explorer, Alika Africa, Duma, or the Company refers to Duma Explorer, Inc.' - a US corporation (San Francisco office). The Tanzanian ground entity is Alika Africa, described on the about page as 'our Tanzania branch' owned by co-founder Omary Ridhiwan; no Tanzanian registration number published. | Listed · 2026-08 |
| Office in Tanzania | YesArusha office with named local staff; Tanzanian phone +255-674-180-183 | Listed · 2026-08 |
| Runs own climbs or resells | Runs its own climbsOwn named mountain guides, porters and cooks listed on the about page; ground operations run by the Tanzanian branch Alika Africa | Listed · 2026-08 |
Safety and porters
| Guide-to-client ratio | 1:1 on summit night'1:1 staff-to-climber ratio on summit night' - staff, not necessarily guides; ratio on other days not stated | Listed · 2026-08 |
|---|---|---|
| Oximeter checks per day | Not providedOperators: add this → | Not provided |
| Oxygen bottles per group | Not providedOperators: add this → | Not provided |
| Porter day wage | Not providedOperators: add this → | Not provided |
Worth knowing
- Two-entity structure: the contracting party is Duma Explorer, Inc. (US, San Francisco), while ground operations in Tanzania run through 'Alika Africa', described as the Tanzania branch owned by co-founder Omary Ridhiwan; KPAP and TATO each list the entities separately (Duma Explorer/USA on KPAP; Alika Africa/Tanzania on both).
- Review base is almost entirely TripAdvisor (5.0 from 663, covering safaris as well as climbs); the Trustpilot profile has been claimed since 2021 but holds zero reviews, and no SafariBookings listing was found.
- Prices disagree between pages: the 6-day Marangu scheduled group departure is $2,499 while the route page lists $1,799-$2,099 for the same itinerary; a Jan 2027 Machame 7-day departure is $3,500 against $2,599 for other dates.
- The porter wage published (TZS 20,000/day, about $8.50) is the KPAP minimum, not what Duma pays; the site says it pays 'above the KPAP minimum' without a figure. Tipping guidance ($6-10/day porter, $20-25 lead guide) and crew size (3-5 porters per climber) are published.
- Founding-year statements vary: 'since 2002' on the about page, 2004 on YourAfricanSafari, and '15 years operating in East Africa' on the homepage. Claims of 'KPAP founding partner since 2008' and '#1 Nature & Parks in Arusha' are the operator's own and were not independently verified.
Sources
- www.dumaexplorer.com/machame-route, read 2026-08-30
- www.dumaexplorer.com/group-tours, read 2026-08-30
- www.dumaexplorer.com/lemosho-shira-route, read 2026-08-30
- www.dumaexplorer.com/northern-circuit-route, read 2026-08-30
- www.dumaexplorer.com/rongai-route, read 2026-08-30
- www.dumaexplorer.com/marangu-route, read 2026-08-30
- www.dumaexplorer.com/shira-route, read 2026-08-30
- mountainexplorers.org/partnership-for-responsible-travel/climb-with-a-partner-, read 2026-08-30
- www.dumaexplorer.com/policies, read 2026-08-30
- www.dumaexplorer.com, read 2026-08-30
- www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g297913-d1103660-Reviews-Duma_Explorer-A, read 2026-08-30
- www.trustpilot.com/review/dumaexplorer.com, read 2026-08-30
- TANAPA park fee tariff, cross-checked 2026-08-30, used to compute every park fee figure on this page
Operators and climbers can both file a correction. We answer every one, and we publish what changed.